Where To Go

Everyone was starving, it was almost 5o’clock. No one had ate since the morning. The whole day was full of sight seeing and hiking. After the Grand Canyon my sister and my parents got back into our green SUV. All of us complaining on where we should go to eat in the middle of no where. Every time we passed a gas station my sister would scream to stop, but my mother and I wanted to find a restaurant not oily hot dogs. Passed five gas stations and then my father started to wine.

6 o’clock and the only noise in the car was our stomachs roaring. We stopped at the gas station unable to find a diner or restaurant of some sort. When we pulled in me and my mother rolled our eyes. We had my dad and little sister run in and grab anything. They came back with four large slush’s, six hot dogs, three bags of chips, and so much candy.

As we ate our disgusting gas station food, my mom saw a diner. “Jake’s Diner” we made my dad stop the car. I thought I was about to throw up from the gas station food, so did my mother. My sister and dad were still hungry so they came in with us.

We sat at the bright red booths picking at the rips and holes. The waitress came over, she had wrinkles, white hair, and a huge mole on her upper lip. She said in a raspy voice like she just quit smoking for 60 years, “What do you want?”

My mother and I had eyes bigger then our mouths. I got two pancakes, a waffle, eggs (scrabbled and sunny side). My mom got a huge plate of home fries, a large orange juice, and a bacon, egg and cheese sandwich.

My dad and sister sat there in aw thinking we were going to share our food with them. They didn’t order because they thought we would let them eat. We did, we had so much left overs. My mother and I are the shortest and skinniest women on this plant, my dad and sister finished off our meals.

We got back in the car with four boxes of take out. My sister and I continued to munch on the home fries. My mom started to yawn, my dad pulled onto the side. Then we fell asleep into our food coma.

Leave a comment